Remind Me It's a Luxury
22 July, 2003 - 2:44 p.m.

I have the constant buzz and whir of about five fans running in the same room. Nonstop. For about a week. Fortunately, it hasn't been too hot around these parts (have to throw in a little stereotypical Nebraska-speak every once in a while) for that same amount of time. Unfortunately, it recently got very humid, so the seemingly mild temperature of 77 degrees is not so pleasant. But the humidity is caused by the rain, and the rain means there is no sun, so I'm rather glad of that, since it means our house won't become the late afternoon/early evening hell hole it usually does.

I have spared these pages the majority of my whining, though the AC/furnace being broken is really a small contributor. We have appointments tomorrow and Friday for estimates with another next week. We took out a second mortgage on the house to pay for it, and I know it will save us so much money in such a short amount of time, that a big, fat loan against our house doesn't worry me.

Our furnace is original to the house after all, much older than myself at a grand 47 years, and we're lucky we got as much use out of it as we did. We are unlucky that it didn't die before we bought the house, or rather, before we ever moved into the house. I shudder to think how long it might have taken to get that sucker fixed while we were renting, considering it took over a week in 90+ degree weather to get the landlord to come out when the AC broke the last time.

It's going to take us even longer to get this fixed. We leave for our Big Camping Adventure in Wyoming next Wednesday, so mark your calendars to come steal all our stuff. If you can find any of it, because our house is a dump. Who wants to clean when it's humid. You sweat before you start. Like that's the reason my house is a dump anyway. You know better.

Anyhow, the furnace won't get replaced until we get back, so that's at least two weeks from now. Pity our poor kitties while they roast away. The dog goes with us. Even if she weren't going with us, she'd be staying at a kennel, and that place doesn't have AC either. Anyway, we have a basement which stays nice a cool. Our vile felines can hang down there for a week and a half rather than puking on my couch and carpet another fifty times. At least that's what I'm hoping. I typically come home to at least one giant mound of half-eaten cat barf. It's that orange one. Anyone want her?

I don't know how I started talking about the whole furnace situation so much, but maybe it's for the best. I feel crapalicious today, and for no good reason too. So instead of reading more about my furnace or what needs cleaned at my house or how I want to sleep through the next three days so I don't have to face them, go read the triumphs of Erin and Heather who both completed a triathalon!

---------------------------------------------

One Year Ago Today:
Missing Hammy

|

< previous | next >